Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B8555
Scope and Contents
Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia: Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888), J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).
Dates:
1838-1964
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Turner Henley Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H39
Scope and Contents
Chiefly letters, 1916-1921, received by John Turner Henley, while a student at the College of William and Mary and the University of Virginia Law School. The letters are from female and male friends from Williamsburg, The College of William and Mary, and The University of Virginia. They write about their studies, student life, fraternity activities, work, and social life. Other correspondents include Turner Henley's father, Novell L. Henley, Virginia Congressman and Williamsburg, Virginia...
Dates:
1857-1921; Majority of material found in 1918-1921
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Frances G. Hoppin Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00121-Mss. Acc. 2007.108
Scope and Contents
The papers, 1917-1918 of Frances G. Hoppin who opened the Red Cross Grenelle Dispensary in Paris, France in 1917, which was one of about 30 civilian dispensaries administered by the Red Cross in Paris at that time. This accession consists of both personal papers and records relating to the dispensary.Included are two journals in which Frances Hoppin recorded both her personal experiences as well as business items relating to the dispensary. Also included is a 3-page report on the...
Dates:
1917-1918
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
A. Willis Robertson Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 R54
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Dates:
1921-1971, 1988; Majority of material found in 1946-1966
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Sara Spotswood Royall Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.27
Scope and Contents
Notebook of newspaper clippings and jottings of Sara Spottswood Royall of Petersburg, Va. Clippings pertain to the Business and Professional Women's Club of Petersburg, Va. Collection includes correspondence, speech, photograph, copies of her obituary and materials relating to Samuel F. Royall's service in World War I in the United States Army. Additions to the collection are the obituaries of Samuel F. Royall, Jr., a Williamsburg, Va. printer, correspondence, clippings, publications, and...
Dates:
1900-1983
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center